>> Dementia Care Professional of the Year

DCPA image


Nominations Due September 1
Dementia Care Professional of the Year
Care, Compassion, Commitment

Dementia Care Professionals of America (DCPA) is a division of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA) that offers membership, training, qualification and other benefits to dementia care professionals. Our goals include raising the bar on care and setting standards of excellence through DCPA’s unique training and qualification programs.

Founded in November 2004, DCPA has welcomed more than 6,300 professionals into its membership ranks—and continues to grow by leaps and bounds. Our members are doctors, nurses, social workers, therapists, nursing assistants, home health aides, psychologists, ministers, dementia care administrators and myriad others. Nearly all of our members have successfully completed our training program(s) and have been qualified as AFA Qualified Dementia Care Providers or AFA Qualified Dementia Care Specialists.

In any industry there are those professionals who simply shine—people with creativity, passion and determination. The dementia community is fortunate to have these professionals as well. DCPA aims to identify exceptional individuals serving the dementia community and to celebrate their accomplishments by presenting the Dementia Care Professional of the Year Award. These are the people who are making a difference in their community, the individuals who are changing the field of practice for the better, and the ones who are willing to go above and beyond for clients in need. They define care, compassion and commitment.

We will award this distinction annually to a deserving individual. Nominees do not need to be DCPA members and they do not need to be affiliated in any way with AFA or its member organizations.

Cick here to read about the 2013 award winner, Nancy Pertl, aging services coordinator at Mental Health America of Middle Tennessee (MHAMT), Nashville, Tenn.

Click here to read about the 2012 award winner, Gwenn Fried, manager of the NYU Langone Medical Center Rusk Rehabilitation horticultural therapy services, New York, N.Y.

Click here to read about the 2011 award winner, Cordula Dick Muehlke, Ph.D., executive director of Alzheimer’s Family Services Center, Huntington Beach, Calif.

Click here to read about the 2010 award winner, Julie Brewer, program director of Alzheimer's Services of the Capital Area, Baton Rouge, La.

Click here to read about the 2009 award winner, Karen Bridges, coordinator of an adult day center in Shelby, N.C.

Click here to read about the 2008 award winner, Madaleine Lippert, an educational consultant and support group facilitator in Ferndale, Wash.

Click here
to read about the 2007 award winner, Cynthia Heafy of the Coral Springs (Fla.) Police Department.

Nomination Form














Alzheimer's Foundation of America Quilt to Remember Dementia Care Professionals of America AFA Teens National Commemorative Candle Lighting National Memory Screening Excellence In Care AFA Network of Websites About Contact Us Privacy Statement